Unit 1 - I Won't Grow Up




Unit 2 - Folklore: A Blast From the Past


Websites

Just So Stories Online Text
The Iliad for Boys and Girls
Folktexts: Library of Folk Tales
PBS’ Swahili Folktales Website: http://pbskids.org/africa/tale/index.html
University of Pittsburgh’s Japanese Folktales Website: http://www.pitt.edu/~dash/japan.html
Scholastics’ Folktale Writer’s Workshop: http://teacher.scholastic.com/writewit/mff/folktalewshop_index.htm

Books
  • Cut from the Same Cloth: American Women of Myth, Legend, and Tall Tale by Robert D. San Souci, Brian Pinkney, and Jane Yolen
  • American Tall Tales by Mary Pope Osborne and Michael McCurdy
  • D'Aulaires' Book of Norse Myths by Ingri and Edgar Parin D'Aulaire
  • Favorite Folktales from Around the World by Jane Yolen
  • Golden Tales: Myths, Legends, and Folktales from Latin America
  • Heroes, Gods and Monsters of the Greek Myths by Bernard Evslin
  • The Adventures of Ulysses by Bernard Evslin
  • Roman Myths by Geraldine McCaughrean and Emma Chichester Clark
  • The Firebird and Other Russian Fairy Tales by Arthur Ransome
  • The Pig Scrolls by Paul Shipton.
  • The Lightning Thief: Percy Jackson and the Olympians: Book 1 by Rick Riordan
  • Ithaka by Adele Geras
  • Wabi: A Hero’s Tale by Joseph Bruchac.
  • The Extraordinary Adventure of Alfred Kropp by Richard Yancey.
  • The Penelopiad: The Myth of Penelope and Odysseus by Margaret Eleanor Atwood
  • The Wanderings of Odysseus: The Story of the Odyssey by Rosemary Sutcliff
  • Maniac Magee by Jerry Spinelli
  • Tikta’Liktak: An Inuit-Eskimo Legend by James A. Houston
  • Women Warriors: Myths and Legends of Heroic Women by Marianna Mayer and Heller Julek

Poems

Non-Fiction

Power Point Resources





Videos

Unit 3 -Embracing Heritage

Dragonwings Resources

(from Stephanie Ross, Durham School of the Arts)
Photos:

(from Jenny Duvall, Lowe's Grove Middle)
Picturing America: http://picturingamerica.neh.gov/

Graphic organizers: http://www.educationoasis.com/curriculum/GO/sequence.htm

The New Americans: http://www.pbs.org/independentlens/newamericans/newamericans.html

"Coming to America": http://www.sing365.com/music/lyric.nsf/America-lyrics-Neil-Diamond/1FDC2C80119D090A4825696900168500

On Gold Mountain: http://www.sing365.com/music/lyric.nsf/America-lyrics-Neil-Diamond/1FDC2C80119D090A4825696900168500

San Fran earthquake: http://www.sfmuseum.org/1906/photos.html

Family Interview: http://genealogy.about.com/cs/oralhistory/a/interview.htm

Melting Pot vs. Cultural Mosaic: http://prezi.com/eamc8raotph6/copy-of-melting-pot-vs-cultural-mosaic/

Plot Diagram: http://www.readwritethink.org/files/resources/interactives/plot-diagram/

Character Charts: http://www.educationoasis.com/curriculum/GO/character_story.htm

Immigration Activity: http://www.scholastic.com/teachers/activity/interactive-tour-ellis-island-immigration-activity

Ellis Island: http://www.ellisisland.org/genealogy/ellis_island_history.asp

Asian Pacific American Heritage: http://teacher.scholastic.com/activities/asian-american/

San Fran earthquake: http://www.archives.gov/legislative/features/sf/